Did you know?

Compiled by Trisha Ries

1719 – Three hundred acres of land were purchased by Indian trader Robert Wilkins along river, adjacent to property of George Stewart, also a trader. This includes the area that would become Marietta.

1803 – David Cook’s son lays out town of New Haven (east end of Marietta).

1804 – James Anderson IV lays out town of Waterford (west end of Marietta).

1812 – Anderson and Cook procure charter and name the town “Marietta”.

1816 – Market House erected on square; Union Meeting House construction on public burying ground authorized.

1876 – Marietta celebrates U.S. Centennial. First issue of The Marietta Times published on Thanksgiving; continues until early 1960s. c.1880 – Mansions in Marietta are sites of lavish entertaining;  hosting Presidents Grant and Cleveland, Supreme Court justices, and railroad presidents.

1893 – Columbia and Donegal Electric Railway runs its first car from Columbia to Marietta through Chiques Hill Park.

1917 – Marietta sends men to serve their country, including Lt. Benjamin Heistand, in whose memory the Marietta Community House is dedicated. “The First National Bank of Marietta”, became the first nationally chartered bank in Lancaster County, fifth in Pennsylvania, and was granted national charter number 25.  Nine shareholders purchased stock at $100.00 per share for a total initial capitalization of $60,000.00.


In colonial days, Marietta was a Susquehanna River crossing known as “Anderson’s Ferry”.

The Borough of Marietta has a population of 2,693 as of July 1, 2016.